Biju Janata Dal (BJD)Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Biju Janata Dal (BJD): A Pillar of Odisha Politics


The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is a significant regional political party in Odisha, India. Established on December 26, 1997, by Naveen Patnaik, who remains its leader, the party was named in honor of Biju Patnaik, a renowned Indian politician and Naveen Patnaik’s father.

Key Information 

  • Founder and Leader of Biju Janata Dal (BJD): Naveen Patnaik
  • Established on : December 26, 1997
  • Headquarters of Biju Janata Dal (BJD): Bhubaneswar, Odisha
  • Political Position: Centre-right

Political Ideology and Goals of Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

The BJD is dedicated to the regional development of Odisha, focusing on socio-economic growth through policies that enhance infrastructure, healthcare, education, and agriculture. The party prioritizes sustainable development, transparency, and good governance.

Here is the symbol of Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Biju Janata Dal (BJD)
Symbol of Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Baijayant Panda: A Prominent Indian Politician

Electoral Success of Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Since its inception, the BJD has been a dominant force in Odisha politics:

  • 1998 General Elections: Won 9 Lok Sabha seats, with Naveen Patnaik becoming the Minister for Mines.
  • 1999 General Elections: Secured 10 Lok Sabha seats.
  • 2000 & 2004 State Elections: Achieved a majority in the Odisha Legislative Assembly in alliance with the BJP.
  • 2004 General Elections: Won 11 Lok Sabha seats.
  • 2009 State Elections: Secured 108 out of 147 legislative seats after parting ways with the BJP.
  • 2014 General Elections: Achieved a significant victory with 20 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats and 117 legislative seats.
  • 2019 State Elections: Maintained power with 112 out of 147 legislative seats, though Lok Sabha seats reduced to 12.
  • 2022 Panchayat & Urban Local Body Elections: Achieved a clean sweep in Odisha.
  • 2024 Elections: Lost all Lok Sabha seats and the state assembly election to the BJP.

Key Achievements by Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

  1. Poverty Alleviation and Development: Implemented several schemes to reduce poverty and promote rural development.
  2. Disaster Management: Recognized for effective management of natural disasters, particularly cyclones.
  3. Women’s Empowerment: Introduced initiatives to empower women, including reservation policies in local governance bodies.
Biju Janata Dal (BJD)
Founder of Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Controversies and Challenges of Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Despite its achievements, the BJD has faced controversies, including allegations of corruption and internal dissent. The suspension of Baijayant Panda in 2018 for alleged anti-party activities highlighted some internal challenges.

Current Status of Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Under the leadership of Naveen Patnaik, the Biju Janata Dal continues to be a major political force in Odisha. The party remains focused on the state’s development and addressing the needs of its people through various welfare programs and initiatives.


  • Naveen Patnaik: Founder and National Chairperson
  • Pinaki Misra: Leader in the Lok Sabha
  • Prasanna Acharya: Leader in the Rajya Sabha
  • Bhartruhari Mahtab: Member of the Lok Sabha
  • Niranjan Pujari: Minister of Finance, Excise in Odisha
  • Pranab Prakash Das: General Secretary (Organisation)
  • Sanjay Das Burma: General Secretary (Headquarters)
  • Subhash Chandra Singh: Mayor of Cuttack, Party Treasurer, and General Secretary of Biju Sramika Samukhya
  • Byomokesh Ray: President, Biju Yuba Janata Dal
  • Devi Ranjan Tripathy: President, Biju Chhatra Janata Dal
  • Snehangini Chhuria: President, Biju Mahila Janata Dal

The BJD’s focus remains on continuing its legacy of development and governance in Odisha under Naveen Patnaik’s leadership.

Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Bhartruhari Mahtab: The Controversial Pro-Tem Speaker

Who is Biju Janata Dal?

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is a regional political party in the Indian state of Odisha. It was founded on December 26, 1997, by Naveen Patnaik. The party primarily focuses on the socio-economic development of Odisha and has been a dominant political force in the state since its inception. ( Biju Janata Dal (BJD) )

Why did Shri Naveen Patnaik found Biju Janata Dal?

Shri Naveen Patnaik founded the Biju Janata Dal as a breakaway faction from the Janata Dal. The primary motivation was to create a party that could focus specifically on the development and governance of Odisha, continuing the legacy of his father, Biju Patnaik, who was a prominent political leader in the state. ( Biju Janata Dal (BJD) )

Who was Biju Patnaik?

Biju Patnaik, whose full name was Bijayananda Patnaik, was a renowned Indian politician and a former Chief Minister of Odisha. He was a significant figure in Indian politics and played a crucial role in the Indian independence movement. Biju Patnaik was also known for his contributions to aviation and his efforts in promoting industrial development in Odisha. ( B ( Biju Janata Dal (BJD) )iju Janata Dal (BJD) )

Why is Biju Patnaik called Meghavati?

Biju Patnaik was given the nickname “Meghavati” (meaning “the man of the clouds”) due to his daring exploits as a pilot. His most notable aviation achievement was during Indonesia’s struggle for independence, where he flew missions that significantly aided the Indonesian leaders. His bravery and contributions earned him this affectionate nickname. ( Biju Janata Dal (BJD) )

Why was Biju Patnaik awarded the ‘Bhoomi Putra’?

Biju Patnaik was awarded the title ‘Bhoomi Putra’ (meaning “Son of the Soil”) by the Indonesian government in recognition of his significant contributions to Indonesia’s independence movement. His efforts in flying Indonesian leaders to safety during critical times showcased his bravery and commitment, earning him this prestigious honor. ( Biju Janata Dal (BJD) )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *